05
Feb
10

The power of Vuh’do

We have been at it again. Racing through Icecrown Citadel – 10 men (or well.. 10 strange people) on a mission. And as it is by now expected – from most, that is – we sort of waltzed through past the poor Saurfang who carried the body of his boy off.

Yes, there were no wipes, and few deaths on the way there. I still consider that an achievement, considering that we raid in more or less constantly changing group setups. But ok, everyone sort of knew what to do.

On we went, past Precious and Stinky, and into Festerguts little domain. And there, our oh so successful group was gutted.. repeatedly.

Yes, we had several wipes. Let us just assume that the first few (one or two) were actually caused by The Group™ needing the time to adjust to each other. I mean, it is quite a step up in difficulty from good old Saurfang (see how he is now good old, while only 3 weeks ago he was the bastard who randomly killed everyone ?) to Putricides twins. Right.. twins.. i am not even sure they are, but they sure look and sound like it.

But, that adjustment done, we still did not manage to get things done. At some point during the fight, usually when the damage output was high, one of the tanks would suddenly keel over, with me (the tank healer, as you may have guessed) staring at the screen, wondering who the hell ate all those nice heals i threw out.

Looking through the death log (a recently discovered function in Scada), i realized that the tank in question had not been hit with that many heals at the time. And that had me puzzled. I could not, for the life of me, understand where that long gap in healing had come from. I had been constantly tossing out heals.

Now, i have to mention that in order to survive the fight, i usually do not just spam Holy Light, but use a mix of Holy Light, Flash of Light and Holy Shock. This seems a lot more mana efficient while not really being that big a risk. Or so i thought before that fight. So, paging through the deathlog, i would notice gaps i could not quite explain. It was as if someone (or something) had eaten one of my healing spells before the tank got it.

Yes, i did look around at my companions. None of them seemed to have any inclination of staying longer than necessary staring at Festergut, and inhaling his definately foul-smelling gas. So it seemed very unlikely that they would do such a thing. I mean, everyone knew that once one of the tanks keeled over, the enrage timer would shorten significantly, as the other tank would take out the melee team once sufficiently prepared by Festergut.

And yes, Festergut himself somehow did not seem capable of such a feat – stealing a healers spell – come on. That cannot be true.

And suddenly it hit me. The spell had not been eaten, really. It had been redirected. And while Festergut was definately having his own part in this, the person to blame was really me, not him. After all, it was me who allowed him to do so, by the power of Vuh’do.

Again, i have to ask for a bit of indulgence while i explain this to those who are not familiar with it. Vuh’do gives me a very nice 6-mole window for my whack-a-mole game. (right, sometimes it is a 9 mole window, but lets not go there now). The 6 moles are, left to right.. the first tank. The first tank’s target. The first tank’s target’s target. And then the same for the second tank. And since my heals should always hit the tank which Festergut tries to smash through the floor into the rooms below, it seemed sensible to let him tell me whom to heal.

So, effectively, i had reduced my whack-a-mole to a one mole game. Just keep healing Festerguts target, and you are fine, i thought. Well.. that is WRONG. Now, don’t get me wrong, this has worked out rather well on a number of encounters, which is why i did not challenge the method until very late. But it is a fact that Festergut will turn to cast bad things at other people too. And since there is a significant delay between me summoning that nice, soothing holy light, and the light actually hitting my target, he has enough time to turn back and deliver yet another crashing blow to the poor tank well before the light reaches him. (talk about the speed of light.. not that fast now)

So, it seems that was exactly what happened. In healing his target, i accidently healed a random raid member, who undoubtedly also enjoyed being basked in this wonderful light. Still, in the end they hardly needed it as much as the poor tank did.

And ‘lo and behold – once i turned back and healed my two charges separately, always sending the light exactly where i wanted to, and not where Festergut tried to redirect me to, things went a lot more smoothly, and we finally had the long-expected victory.

Not by the power of Vuh’do – sometimes that power can tempt us to do foolish things.

What is the bottom line of this – There is a lot of power in Vuh’do. Or in any other addon which does the same. But with all that power comes the responsibility to think about what you use how and when. Sometimes, the true power lies in ignoring the special things they can do to you, and go back to the basics.


6 Responses to “The power of Vuh’do”


  1. February 5, 2010 at 14:40

    GRATS ON DOWNING HIM! I did wonder last time we tried him what was going on – because your healz are usually spot on, and I had no idea where the gaps were coming from!

    *cheers*

  2. February 7, 2010 at 16:37

    You remind me of a man.
    (What man?)
    Oh, the man with the power.
    (What power?)
    Oh, the power of Vuh’do
    (Who do?)
    Oh, you do, you do
    (Do what?)

    I am scared of relying on healing addons for precisely that reason :)

    I even tried healbot, and it lasted for all of 2 minutes before I turned it off again in horror.. and most of my guildies swear by it.

    • February 7, 2010 at 16:45

      Actuall, i took the cue from an old movie – (YouTube Link)Labyrinth.

      It was that which made me choose the title.

      And yes, i was hesitant to use healing addons for a long time, but i also have to say that some of the healing i do i really couldnt do without the healing addons. The mouse-over macros i had before were good, but not as good.

      Although – it did take me a few tries to really appreciate it, and now i am hard pressed to go back to what i did before.

      • February 8, 2010 at 21:29

        Yeah.. I _love_ the movie :D I know it is wrong to fancy David Bowie looking like that, but I just can’t help myself :D

        I should give some addons a fair go really.. the problem is that I healed with one hand (just with the mouse) for such a long time while I was nursing the baby that doing anything else just feels *weird* :)

      • February 8, 2010 at 23:34

        Actually – i never could just mouse heal without any addons.I sort of had mouse over macros for the different healing spells. Now i use Vuh’do exactly for that – click through healing with additional information right where i need it.

        I never was able to get that to work with the “normal” ui.

  3. 6 Shawoman
    February 7, 2010 at 16:48

    I should probably comment about the post but instead i have to say, that quote by Issy gave me *ståpäls* aka goosebumps.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

