01
Jan
10

Why the rush

There.. the old year is.. well, old. And gone, by now. And the new year is here, together with a brand new decade. Many will hope for a decade which is better than the last, but i have to admit that i am rather pleased with how the last decade turned out. Yes, there were a few downsides, but overall, it went ok.

(This explicitly excludes the guy from the airport who must have used enough Eau de Cologne to cover an elephant in rosy scent – you, sir – stink. And it was not just the smell.. it was more the burning sensation in my eyes. Sitting beside you was a punishment i would rather not visit on anyone with a sense of smell.)

Swapping from the olFireworksd to the new decade went without a hitch too. For the first time in decades (sorry, i just could not let that pass) i even had snow for new years eve, although i sort of ensured that would be the case by traveling to a place where snow is.. well.. common. Still, here are two impressions from last night, which both sort of capture the feeling. The right one is outside the house – the road up to the village, while the left one is from where we stared at rockets being shot up. If the pictures make it seem as if it was cold – it was.. and it was not. Well.. just about -10 degrees.

But.. back to what this blog is about – WoW, healing, and decency.

There, i must admit that i have been

  • slacking at blogging.
  • trying the sanity tap (i.e the LfG tool)
  • pushing my warlock (no, there will not be indecentdps.wordpress.com) to 80

Doing that, i have to ask – Why the rush ?

Yes, i can understand that running heroics is more exhilarating when you do it fast. And i agree – you really learn to do your things right if you survive. And of course, completing Halls of Lightning in under 14 minutes should be worth an achievement (Blizzard, i hope you are NOT listening). But honestly.. once the last boss is dead, and your team is at least partially alive, why the hell do you have to run off to do whatever you want to do next before everyone has their body back.

I may be old fashioned in this, and it may be the DPS who kept yanking aggro and forcing you to heal him who is having yet another out of body experience, but hey – they were YOUR team. Without them, you would still be standing at the entrance, staring the dwarves in the face and wondering “how the heck am i going to get through here alive, with my “sissy robe” for armor, and my bad breath for my most formidable weapon ?

So, Healers out there.. why the rush running off at the end of an instance without sparing 20 seconds to resurrect those who did not make it ? Tell me.. i would really want to know.

For me, that is indecent. So no, you will not see me do that. And if you do, rest assured you will have

  • managed to annoy me greatly before
  • gotten a whisper letting you know that i would rather have you stay dead
  • be welcome on my (short) list of people i will never PuG with again.

L.

9 Responses to “Why the rush”


  1. January 2, 2010 at 03:25

    Gorgeous, gorgeous photos! The moon one in particular. I managed to avoid snow almost entirely this year – despite it landing all the country, except the cold, dank dip in the middle of the country in which I live. Dammit.

    I’m sure you can write about indecentdps should inspiration strike you =P There would not be rioting. The Board of Blog Naming Administration and Control would not arrest you.

    I have no idea why people don’t rez their fallen comrades – the general don’t give a fuckness that pervades Sanity Tap I think. I mean, after all, they’re never going to see those people again, why extent them basic human courtesy. And, yes, it infuriates me too.

    I have occasionally pointedly not rezzed someone, I have to admit, but only as punishment for “lol, nice healing NOT” style comments.

  2. January 2, 2010 at 03:26

    Oh, and Happy New Year πŸ™‚

    • January 2, 2010 at 10:54

      Thanks, and a happy new year to you too.
      Yes, the reasoning for not resurrecting someone is similar on my side. Also, people yelling REZ PLZ during the fight earn a little longer nap in the dirt too.
      It probably is this general “i don’t give a damn” feeling about pugs. I just dont like to accept that πŸ™‚ (well.. with you, that makes 2 at least.

  3. January 2, 2010 at 06:18

    Pfff, in Norway we walk backswards waist deep in snow uphill with our privates hanging out!

    *cough* Uhm, yeah. I love the left picture, somehow you made it actually look cold. As for PuGs… I really don’t deal well with the Sanity Tap. I see people getting the Get a pug for pugging achievement now, and I’m not even near half way yet. PuGs usually just end up with me telling someone off and/or me being in a mood for a while. As long as it’s possible I’m more than willing to wait a while to get at least a couple of guildies in rather than completely pug it.

    • January 2, 2010 at 10:59

      Well.. i know you learn to shovel snow before you learn to walk fully, but you have to consider me – someone who knows snow mostly from fairy tales and those rare moments when the rain is just that much more fluffy πŸ™‚

      The result in pugs is usually the same for me, which means i am barely past the first pugging achievement (10 randoms) with most of my chars. The only one who clocked a bit more in that regard is the lock, because with her, i can sit back and thing ‘stfu and do your stuff, i am only in this for the badger’
      Else, if there is a chance for guildies (even a remote one) i will also wait gladly.

  4. January 19, 2010 at 13:04

    What?
    What people don’t rez their puyg mates at the end of the run?

    Next you will tell me that Mages don’t offer a table of refreshment at the beginning of a run?

    On that note… I can sort of, well, maybe understand why Mages wont burn 20s worth of reagents in a BG.. The Arcane Brilliance will go at the 1st death and the spirit rez is faster mana return than mana bickies…

    But.. why not offer a table at the instance entrance.. if people run off.. then fine.

    I’d really be wanting to be having one of Tam’s ffs moments to leave fallen comrades at the end of an instance run (I admit, I might do it after the 3rd wipe on the same trash).

    • January 19, 2010 at 15:09

      There are mages who offer food for a PuG ? You HAVE to be kidding me.
      In almost all cases where i came in as a healer, i had to beg the mage to pass me some of their immensely precious strudels. And more often than not, the mage either was deaf, blind, or unable to understand the request. Oh, and i simply refuse to resort to “mage, food plz” – instead, it is “could i have a little food please ,insertnameofmagehere ?”

      • January 26, 2010 at 16:07

        Ur doin it wrong.

        What you have to do is follow the mage around going “FOOD FFS” until he succumbs.

      • January 26, 2010 at 19:58

        Way to subtle for the average Mage Tam.

        I prefer..

        “What you died without pulling aggro? You not bandaging fast enough? You need to pay me for your heals… in nomnoms”

        A picnic producing Mage is higher on my heals priority list than the tank… well maybe even


Leave a Reply

