06
Jan
10

Raiding the Lead

Or was it leading the raid ? I am not sure really. Last night I tried to do it for real for the first time. No, those two short excursions into Naxxramas hardly count, as I had other people around to explain the tactics, make the decisions and keep people together.

But this time, I did it all. Or well.. as well as I could. And it went.. well.. not tooo bad. I heard few screams on vent, saw little in complaints in the chat, so overall, it was a not too shabby result.

Ulduar - 2 Tiers down in content, still a lot of fun.

Ulduar was the desired target. For various reasons, we chose to use an existing Instance ID, meaning that we could bypass Flame Leviathan and Ignis in favor of hitting Razorscale, XT, Kologarn and the Assembly of Iron. Despite having new people around, and despite most of the fights being a tad more chaotic than expected, we did end up one-shotting the first three, and ran out of time on the Assembly of Iron. I want to thank everyone in the raid for a wonderful evening, and for sticking with me despite the rocky start and the slow path through the trash.

What I have to say is – Raid leading is fun. It is also more stressful than I thought. Still, since I did not get yelled at on the first attempts, more are bound to follow.

L

4 Responses to “Raiding the Lead”


  1. January 11, 2010 at 15:37

    /cheer

    Congratulations on leading the raid – I think you give excellent raid!

    Seriously, you’re always very calm and encouraging, which works for me 🙂

  2. January 11, 2010 at 17:50

    Raid leading is surprisingly challenging indeed. The part which I found hardest was that I needed to know each single fight and trash pull from a tanks, melee, ranged and healers perspective in order to be able to explain the tactics to the raid and decide who does what.

    As you say though, it is kind of fun and it makes doing a raid for the hundreth time a little less boring.

  3. January 19, 2010 at 11:38

    I’m affraid you got it all wrong.

    Judging how sucsessful you were as a Raid Leader isn’t in the fact that nobody yelled at you, it’s in the fact that *you* didn’t have to yell *at them* 😀

    • January 19, 2010 at 14:58

      That definately is a way to look at it. On the other hand, i more consider that a success of the raid itself.
      I also feel obliged to mention that it was a guild run, not a pug raid. I am not yet willing to dive into the deep pool WITH the sharks.


Leave a Reply

